Member Book Reviews – #RRBC

Welcome to RRBC Member Reviews!  We know you’ve probably shared it on Amazon (or, maybe Amazon took your review down and are refusing to put it back up for whatever reason), but we’d also love to know what you thought of the RRBC books you’ve read.

Please leave the title of your book, the author of the book and your review down below in the comments section.  Before you leave, we’d also appreciate you clicking the share buttons on this page and sending it to all your social media platforms!  Members who have had reviews removed from Amazon will get credit if they share their reviews here.

Happy Reviewing!

***

SPECIAL NOTE:  Because the reviews that had been posted in our old forum were very important, I asked our Membership Director, John Fioravanti to transfer all 276 reviews (with some of their replies) to this new forum so that your books would not miss out on that exposure that had been brought to them.

THANKS, JOHN!

 

298 thoughts on “Member Book Reviews – #RRBC”

  1. OPEN, SHUT by Nonnie Jules
    A loving message about the Christian faith without preaching

    Not everyone is born a Christian or raised in a Christian family. Everyone holds his/her belief per personal, intimate encounters with divinity in distinct ways. Ms. Jules writes this short story beautifully in her unique writing style. She has a mission in her mind and lets the story run its own without stuffing her belief down your throat. Open, Shut is a loving story of the Christian faith that does not preach. The message is powerfully presented without apology.

    Like

  2. OUTSHINE by Karen Ingalls
    Emotional and Sincere
    Outshine is a memoir about the author’s battle with ovarian cancer from the first diagnosis, surgery, and chemotherapy to the medical team’s triumphant declaration that she is cancer-free. In her journal, she candidly shares her struggles and weakness, and she follows with a positive, resilient attitude. Her survival spirits are admirable and inspirational.
    In the prologue, the author writes the words of wisdom: “A woman is her own best advocate and knows her body better than anyone, so it’s vital that she stay informed and educated.” I firmly convinced that this statement not only applies to the woman but all humans; it is relevant not only to ovarian cancer but to all the other conditions that inflict our living organs and general health.

    Like

  3. Hi all. Hope this is the right place to post reviews. I just purchased, read and reviewed Red Eyes in the Darkness, a short story by D.L. Finn. Here is my review.

    Red Eye in the Darkness
    D.L.Finn
    “All good, until we realized we were related to a killer. IT is a normal looking human being. I say IT because whatever humanity brother-in-law, Ronald had was gone. What was left was pure evil.”
    And so begins D.L.Finn’s short story Red Eye in the Darkness. This story is riveting from the first page to the end of the story. You never know what will happen next with all the twists and turns this horrific tale tells us. It’s hard to put this book down. In fact, I couldn’t.
    As a fan of Stephen King, Dean Koontz and others—this was right up my horror fan’s alley.
    My only criticism, it needed to be longer. I’d like to see the characters filled in a bit. What happened to brother-in-law Ronald that turned him into a monster? Who are the Evildwel? How did they get to Ronald?
    Still, I believe this author has written other stories about these evil creatures and I will fly to Amazon, find and read them.
    I gave this story four stars.
    Reviewer: Patricia A. Guthrie

    Like

  4. Hello ! Read & reviewed Shirley Harris-Slaughter ma’am’s short ‘A Citizen’s Group In Action: Saving A Train Station’. I reviewed the short on Amazon.com & Amazon.in (verified purchase). Both the reviews are live. I gave the book a 5 star review. Here is the review:

    This was an easy read. I loved the way the information was presented in a neat & crisp way. It is always a pleasure to read the non-fiction works of author of good repute Shirley Harris-Slaughter. I admire the organized & civilized way the people mentioned in this group behaved to achieve a worthy goal. This short work is worth a read. Happy reading to all !

    Happy reading & reviewing to all at RRBC ! 😀 😀 😀 – Fiza Pathan

    Like

  5. Hi ! Read & reviewed John Fioravanti sir’s book ‘Reflections: Inspirational Quotes & Interpretations’. I gave the book a 5 star review. I reviewed the book on Amazon.com & Amazon.in (verified purchase). Both reviews are live on Amazon. Here is the review:

    This book was a really defining one for me. I was so inspired & uplifted by it that I could hardly put it down. ‘Reflections’ by John Fioravanti managed to motivate me to become a better person full of self-confidence, self-assurance & self-reliance. I was feeling very unsure of myself for the past few days & it was this book that brought me back to focus on the many roles I play as a daughter, niece, teacher, writer, publisher & distributor. I’m not going to forget this book in a hurry. This is the defining self-help book I’ve read at the beginning of this year 2020. The book is well organised & dwells on certain specially chosen inspirational quotes by famous activists, writers, self-help authors, sports-stars, business tycoons, social workers etc. Author Fioravanti calm voice echoes throughout this book which guides, heals & motivates. I read his reflections & analysis of the quotes mentioned here & it was an eye-opening experience. I highly recommend this book to everyone who needs some good brain juice as well as soul juice to carry on life meaningfully. Pick up your copy of Fioravanti’s book today, you will not regret it one bit. Are you looking for a unique inspirational book, then read this book. Looking for a very well written & edifying book of reflections on the mind, soul & spirit then this is the book for you. Looking for a book to take you out of the doldrums then pick up your copy of Fioravanti’s book today. I really could identify with Fioravanti in this book because just like him, I am also a teacher & a writer. The reflections here in this book about his teaching & writing career can really inspire you to be better at these two precious vocations. Kudos to Fioravanti on a job well done ! I hope to read more books penned by him in the near future. Happy reading to everyone !

    Happy reading & reviewing to all at RRBC ! 😀 😀 😀 – Fiza Pathan

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello ! I tried typing about my review of Balroop ma’am’s book but it has not come up here. I’ll try one more time. The review of Balroop ma’am’s book is live on both Amazon.com & Amazon.in (verified purchase). Here is the review:

    ‘Moments We Love’ by Balroop Singh is contemplative & full of hidden desires & emotions. I loved the poems about love, especially about a person’s first love that really stirred my soul. This book consists of a wonderful set of love poems & other poems relating to different emotions & situations that we as human beings come across in our lives. These emotions & situations can be good or bad, we just have to look at it in a detached manner to move on with our lives. This book can be a great gift to a lover of romantic poetry. Balroop Singh manages to enthrall the reader with her collection of poems which are indeed fascinating. Some of my favorite poems in this collection were mostly the ‘love poems’ & they were: ‘First Love’, ‘Love Yearnings’, ‘Memories & Moments’, ‘Soaking Wet’, ‘Drifting Apart’, ‘Thaw’, ‘Conniver’, ‘Who Are You’, ‘Memories’ & ‘Summer Love’. These were really my favorites & they really touched my core. If you have ever loved someone truly then this is a lovely collection of poems for you to buy & cherish. I hope to read more poetry collections by Balroop Singh in the near future.

    I gave her book a 4 star review. Happy reading & reviewing to everyone at RRBC ! I hope this shows up ! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Fiza, Thank you for reading my poetry and liking it. It is amazing that each reader has his/her own favorites! Thanks for mentioning them. Besides romantic poems, there are some that speak about realities and try to define those moments of life that we shove aside. My favorites are: ‘Awakening,’ ‘Now I Understand you,’ ‘Did I change’ and ‘I know you’… to name a few. 🙂 Thanks for the review Fiza. Stay blessed.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Here is my recent 5* review on Amazon US & UK of Reflections by John Fioravanti

    A Voice of Inspiration

    On the cover, John Fioravanti is described as ‘A Voice of Inspiration’. That intrigued me. The further I delved into his writings the more this bold claim proved to be true.

    The concept of this book is simple. Take fifty quotes from a variety of people that have touched the author’s life, ranging from ancient philosophers to more recent influential characters and talented individuals from the present day. Then add personal experiences and interpretations to those inspirational quotations. A simple concept maybe, but it takes real skill to write the motivational passages Mr Fioravanti has done in such an easy-to-understand way.

    Enthusiasm and the love of writing shine through as you read the author’s astute observations. His background as a History teacher for thirty-five years gives reassurance of his own experience in tackling many challenges in the real world. Despite his own self-confessed demons, which he has learned to overcome, a positive and refreshing approach to life inspires you to achieve the same.

    I read this book after Christmas, a period of reflection on the year just gone and the year to come. It challenged me on many levels. The lessons learned will help improve my attitude toward life. It is an inspirational volume I will return to when I need renewed motivation.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Here is the review of ‘I Am Soul’ by Yecheilyah Ysrayl:
    ‘I Am Soul’ by Yecheilyah Ysrayl celebrates the beauty and intelligence of black women, wondering why would skin be an issue; why would its color speak untold tales? Ysrayl still feels tethered to those stories but carries pride within that skin, determined to expose the façade that continues to haunt the people of color. She knows the power of words, which can knock off the ignorance of ages and her poetry makes a superb effort to do that.

    Realistic and bold, much of her poetry underlines the lies that are told to conceal the prejudices that are entrenched in the minds of people. She makes an appeal to write about truth, to treasure peace and unshackle from the past. Some poems mock at the present times when guns “accidently go off,” when “hearts break in crowded rooms” and “deafening silence” covers it as normal. This poetry emanates from the soul, seared with eons of bias, proud of its freedom.
    The review is also posted at Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. robbiesinspiration December 29, 2019 at 6:42 am | Reply
    My 4-star review of Christmas Writing Prompts: 12 Creative Activities For Kids by WJ Scott

    When my son was younger, I struggled to get him to write and I would have loved to have a children’s book like this which provides fun prompts which start a story and allows the child to finish it using his/her own ideas and in his/her own writing. A fabulous idea for facilitating writing practice by children and stimulating their own creative ideas.

    This particular book provides Christmas prompts for example, a description of all the special Christmas smells that come from the kitchen at this time of your. The prompts allow for the exercise of different senses and talents by a child including musical talents, and the senses of touch, smell and hearing.

    This book reminded me a bit of the “choose your own adventure” books I read as a pre-teen, but for much younger children. I think it is a great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. robbiesinspiration December 29, 2019 at 6:36 am | Reply
    My 4-star review for The cat who wanted a dog by Micki Peluso:

    This is a very cute book about a cat who lives with an elderly couple and has had the run of their home and their attention all to himself for a long time. The couple’s daughter’s dog, Rocky, comes to stay with them while she and her family are away on vacation creates a great disturbance in Toby the cat’s life. Initially Toby thinks of Rocky as a huge monster and hides from him, wishing him to go away and leave him alone. As time passes, however, Toby realises two things, one, that Rocky has a good heart and is an entertaining playmate, and two, that he is much cleverer than Rocky. Things start to change with Toby having a marvelous time teasing Rocky and showing him how clever he is. Then one day, Rocky’s family comes to collect him and he goes home, leaving Toby all alone. What happens next? You’ll have to read the book to find out.

    This book is also a colouring book which is a lovely idea for younger reader to help engage them in the story and encourage both reading and being read too.

    https://www.amazon.com/review/R3PL11YJWJRWH3/ref=pe_1098610_137716200_cm_rv_eml_rv0_rv

    Liked by 1 person

  11. insaneowl December 27, 2019 at 11:41 am | Reply
    Hi ! I read & reviewed D.L.Finn ma’am’s book ‘A Long Walk Home: A Christmas Novelette’. I reviewed it on Amazon.com & Amazon.in & both reviews are up & live. Here is the review:

    I loved this Christmas story. It made a perfect read this Christmas eve 2019 & certifies D.L.Finn as a master story-teller. The story of Kenzie’s breakup with her fiance Heath & what follows thereafter one snowy & bitter cold Christmas eve night is worth a read. Does Kenzie give into her low mood or is something magical going to happen this Christmas? You will have to read the book to find out. I loved the characters Thomas & Olive along with some feline friends in the story. I highly recommend every short story lover & literary fiction fan to read ‘A Long Walk Home’ by D.L.Finn; pick up your copy of her short novelette today. It will be a perfect Christmas gift to anyone who likes to spread the Christmas spirit by reading Yuletide literature during the holiday season. The story is well written, excellently edited & full of goodness which just makes you keep turning the pages. Support talented author D.L.Finn & read this short book, you won’t regret it. Kudos to her on a job well done! I look forward to reading more short stories by D.L.Finn in the near future. Happy reading to everyone !

    Compliments of the season to everyone at RRBC ! 🙂 – Fiza Pathan

    Liked by 1 person

  12. karenringalls December 27, 2019 at 7:26 am | Reply
    This is a section I always forget to go to! My apologies to all the authors that I read this past year and did not post a comment here. The books I read in just December are: Amulet’s Rapture which is a page-turning book about Catrin, a Druid princess and her love for Marcellus, the great-grandson of Mark Antony; Before, Afre, and After about Maureen Twomey’s stroke at a young age and her road to recovery; An Unusual Island about a family’s journey to another world; Ace Carroway and the Growling Death is a fun read about murder and gold bars; The Edge of Memory tells the story of Harriet who searches for a memory that is lost and finding her true self; and Amina, the Silent One is a fascinating book about a young girl growing up in the slums of Mumbai and how music changes her life.
    A New Year’s Resolution: remember to post at this site after I have read and reviewed a book.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am just as guilty, John. I remember to put it on my member portal, and I definitely post it on Amazon, but I often forget to post it here and on the genre pages. I’m going to try to be better at it this year. 🙂

      Like

  13. markbierman December 21, 2019 at 5:43 am | Reply
    Hello! I have read and reviewed, “Dangerous Alliance,” by Randall Krzak. Here is my review.
    Plenty of action in this book to satiate those who love adventure. This novel brings the world to your doorstep.

    The political struggles, backroom deals, secretive missions, and puppetry of the most heinous dictatorships become very real. They are no longer just news stories to be viewed while eating dinner.

    Randall’s extensive experience with the military and travels are reflected in his writing style. This author has ‘been there’ and his knowledge of technical terms and cultures is impressive.

    The perspectives do change quickly, so hypervigilance to the plot and characters is required.

    Dangerous Alliance was an eye-opener for me, and I wouldn’t hesitate to read another book written by Krzak. I give this book Five Stars!

    Like

  14. insaneowl December 20, 2019 at 12:07 am | Reply
    Hi ! I read & reviewed D.L.Finn ma’am’s book ‘Just Her Poetry:Seasons Of A Soul’. The reviews are up & live on Amazon.com & Amazon.in. Here is the review:

    This was an amazing & soothing read. The poems in poet D.L.Finn’s book ‘Just Her Poetry Seasons Of A Soul’ is like a healing balm to the soul & also very soul searching. I especially loved the nature poems in this collection. D.L.Finn pours out her soul into her poetry but yet manages to create questions in the minds of the reader about life, death, silence, nature, family, relationships, past griefs, trauma etc. Her poems are soul searching, I was very much attracted to the poems about emotions which made me sit back & think them over. The poems are really beautiful & sublime. I highly recommend this book of poems to every poetry lover out there who like their poems to be intelligent as well as spiritually uplifting. It was heart-breaking to read some of the poems about good & evil because it is so true. D.L.Finn’s poems manage to capture your attention & make you stay focused on what she is trying to convey to you. I like that in a poet & you also will so go buy your copy of ‘Just Her Poetry Seasons Of A Soul’ today. As I said, I really was attracted to the nature poems being a nature enthusiast myself. Some of my favorites were: ‘Sit Alone’, ‘Plant’, ‘River’s Journey’, ‘Sun’, ‘My Muses’, ‘Spring Gone’, ‘Encounter’, ‘Porch Gift’, ‘Crisp’, ‘Trees’ & ‘A Dog’s Stare’. Did you like the sound of those titles, then get your copy of D.L.Finn’s book of poems today. It can be a great gift to any poetry lover out there. I especially love it when she penned her poems about her pets – her cats & dogs. There are also some surprises here in this poetry collection in relation to her other two books of paranormal fiction. No you are not going to get any spoilers from me, buy your copy & enter the beautiful, enchanting & mesmerizing world of a really good poet. I hope to read more books by D.L.Finn in the near future. I would love to read more poems penned by her during her adventures either in her own forest or on her own Harley motor bike. Kudos to her on a job well done !

    Happy reading & reviewing to everyone at RRBC during the Christmas season ! 😀 😀 😀 – Fiza Pathan

    Like

  15. Karen Black December 16, 2019 at 8:04 pm | Reply
    My review of Caste Metal by Fiza Pathan has been posted on Amazon. Caste Metal is a brutal, but eloquently written story that describes the caste system and an untouchable family. When it is discovered that a family’s son has learned to read, the ramifications are horrendous. One priest’s surprising act of kindness, however, provides a bright light in an otherwise dark and sad existence. It is a five star short story.

    Like

    1. insaneowl December 20, 2019 at 10:31 pm | Reply
      Hi Karen ma’am ! Thank you so much for your awesome review of my short story & the 5 stars. I’m glad you liked it. Happy Christmas to you & have a wonderful ‘bookish’ New Year 2020 ! 😀 😀 😀 – Fiza Pathan

      Like

  16. Ted D. Berner December 16, 2019 at 7:30 am | Reply
    I’ve read and reviewed Caste Metal: Short Story, by Fiza Pathan. What a great story! I’ve left my 5 star review on Amazon.
    Wow! What a powerful message packed into a short story. I was drawn to this book from the captivating cover and am so glad to have found it. I don’t want to give anything away, but I can honestly say, you’ll be happy to have read this. Fiza Pathan has such a wonderful way with words and I’ll definitely be reading more of her work.

    Like

    1. insaneowl December 16, 2019 at 8:04 am | Reply
      Thank you so much Ted sir for liking my story ‘Caste Metal’. I am really enjoying ‘Proof’ & hope to finish it before the year ends. Have a Happy Christmas & a wonderful New Year 2020 ! 😀 😀 😀 – Fiza Pathan

      Like

  17. robbiesinspiration December 12, 2019 at 9:55 pm | Reply
    Here is my four star review of The Button by D.L. Finn:

    Lynn has grown up in an abusive family with a mother who drinks heavily and a step-father who is physically and verbally abusive towards both Lynn and his biological son, Warren. She escaped home as quickly as she could and is living on with her best friend, Staci, and working as an assistant hairdresser.

    Unknown to her, Lynn has a pair of guardian angels who have been watching over her for years. The angels are aware that terrible events lie in Lynn’s immediate life path and they are tasked with trying to help her avert the worst outcome. The angels can only guide and are unable to overtly change the course of Lynn’s life; she has to make her own choices from her own free will.

    One evening Lynn goes out partying with her friend, Staci, and things get wildly out of hand with alcohol and drugs. Lynn wakes up in a strange house next to the body of a dead young man. Staci has disappeared subsequent to leaving the bar with an unknown but gorgeous stranger. Lynn decides against reporting the death to the police and this decision sets in motion a series of events which may or may not have turned out differently had she made a different choice. Lynn is pulled into a frightening struggle to find her friend and save both their lives with a little bit of help from her angels.

    I enjoyed Lynn’s character and how she stepped up as the plot unfolded, learning to rely more on her instincts or the guiding voices she hears and learning to first love and secondly forgive. The book has quite a significant family drama side story and I enjoyed discovering bits and pieces of information about her family and seeing it all come together neatly at the end.

    Kent, Lynn’s friend, cum boyfriend, is a lovely character. Patient and kind he evolves as the perfect soulmate for Lynn and it is pleasant to watch their romance coming into fruition.

    The supernatural elements are clever and well written, making the story quite believable. Aside form the angels, there is also the evildwel that takes possession of “host” humans whom it can manipulate into fulfilling its evil desires. The descriptions of the evildwel were deliciously creepy, especially the glimpses of it that Lynn catches in the eyes of its current host who is stalking her.

    All in, a fast moving and entertaining story which lovers of paranormal thrillers will enjoy.

    Here is the link to my review on Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R31315BYO1ZFNS/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B07GNWV4Z9

    Like

  18. Karen Black December 12, 2019 at 11:16 am | Reply
    My review of “The Alter Boy,” by Phil Stephens, has been posted on Amazon. “The Alter Boy” is a story told through the eyes of Carl, a young man growing up in a hypocritical Catholic home in the sixties. Carl’s confusion over faith and family is the center post of the story, but his life is littered with antics that brought back memories for me. Although the events are sometimes depressing, the author’s sense of humor is apparent and highlights this well-written novel. The characters are memorable and the setting is accurate. It is a good book and an entertaining read.

    Like

  19. robbiesinspiration December 6, 2019 at 12:20 pm | Reply
    Here is my four-star review for Jewel by Jan Sikes:

    This is an enjoyable short story about a young girl, Jewel, whose family experiences extremely hard times following a work accident by her father. He finds solace in drinking and his family slides further and further into poverty as his ability to support them declines. Their circumstances take a turn for the worse when he suddenly disappears, never to return.

    Jewel realises that her mother is very ill as she has a hacking cough and knows that something has to be done to save her younger sister, her mother and herself. She persuades her mother to go into the town and see a doctor. Her mother, however, returns with finery for her beautiful daughter, Jewel, instead of the expected medicine and the two girls soon realise that their mother, who is dying, has given them away to the best takers she can find.

    Jewel goes to work for a Madam in a brothel and her younger sister is put into foster care. Interestingly, Jewel doesn’t fight against her fate, seeming to quickly accept that she has no other options for the time being.

    Jewel becomes an object of interest for one of the brothel’s wealthy clients. Will she find happiness or will she become just another mistress to be cast aside when her admirer looses interest? You will have to read the book to find out.

    The link to my review on Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R158H8CQLW5V5T/ref=cm_cr_dp_d_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B07TKMXK5B

    Like

  20. robbiesinspiration December 5, 2019 at 11:24 am | Reply
    Here is my 4 star review of Nonnie Jules book, Open, Shut: A short story:

    This is the first book I have read by Nonnie Jules and I enjoyed it a great deal. Darcy Lynn and her younger brother are the admiring younger siblings of Lola. A bright and vivid personality with an ever ready smile, Lola is the heart of their family. She is an extraordinary girl with a real sense of family and lots of time for her younger siblings.

    One dark and dreary morning, the three siblings are walking to school when a terrible car accident claims Lola’s life and her family are left to deal with the fallout. Darcy’s parents are atheists so they do not have Faith to turn to during this time of trouble.

    A few years later, Darcy is feeling despondent, the effects of the loss of her wonderful older sister still hang heavily over her family with her father having found solace in alcohol and her mother maintaining her sister’s old bedroom as a shrine. Darcy goes into her dead sister’s bedroom and finds and reads her diary. This action hugely impacts on her life and that of her family, allowing them to re-discover their lost Faith and move forward along life’s path in a positive way.

    I liked the style of writing of this book and the inclusion of the diary entries which are read by Darcy during her time in her sister’s bedroom. The ending is rolled out cleverly with the positive outcomes highlighted in a clever and natural way.

    Link to my review on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/R2K2LX1SAOPXL1/ref=cm_cr_dp_d_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B07F7VVHN7

    Like

  21. Stephen B King December 3, 2019 at 11:40 pm | Reply
    Amazon (Australia) would not let me post a review for:
    Deception
    by Eric Halpenny
    Five stars *****

    I genuinely enjoyed this story. Firstly it was very well written and though the storyline is not my usual go to reading category, the quality of the writing makes me want to read more by the author because I believe if he wrote a genre I enjoy – he would do it exceptionally well.
    Deception is a tale about a thoroughly nasty man, an interrogator in an oppressive Eastern Bloc society who will stop at nothing to further his career and thinks he can achieve it at the expense of a female colleague. I don’t want to give anything away, but the ending was very pleasing.

    Well done, Eric.

    Like

  22. John W. Howell December 3, 2019 at 5:14 pm | Reply
    Amazon would not let me post a review of Suzanne Burke’s book, Empty Chairs

    Here is my Five Star Review.
    Empty Chairs by Suzanne Burke

    I have been impressed with Ms. Burke’s storytelling abilities and have read several of her fictional thrillers. I’m not a big fan of memoirs since, for the most part, the story is all about the person told from the person’s point of view. Generally, that point of view is somewhat egocentric and usually an attempt to explain away certain events without the mia culpa aspect. I have to tell you this story is quite different. Ms. Burke presents a no holds barred look at her young life.
    The book opens with examples of horrible neglect and abuse by her mother and an endless stream of men who paid to abuse and have sex with a child. There seemed to be no way out of the situation but death. This kind of childhood would have broken anyone and have made a logical excuse for a life of anti-social behavior. Ms. Burke is much better than that. She took matters into her own hands and battled her way out of her mother’s house at eleven years old. Having nowhere to go, she took to the streets. Here is where this memoir takes a turn. Instead of glorifying her ability to survive, Ms. Burke continually provides the reader with moral lessons on what not to do when one is experiencing homelessness.
    In short, Ms. Burke does not paint a picture of heroic deeds done in spite of being homeless. She accurately portrays the condition of homelessness for what it is a frightening, lonely, and dangerous way to live. I suspect one of Ms. Burke’s goals in writing the memoir was to keep anyone reading the story from ever contemplating going out and trying the experience. Also, she paints a picture of the homeless that is sure to increase understanding of those not so inflicted.
    This book is not a preachy, self-righteous, get it off my chest kind of thing. It is raw, gritty, and tells a frightening story. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys excellent writing and a story that reads almost like a piece of thriller fiction.

    Like

  23. insaneowl December 2, 2019 at 11:42 pm | Reply
    Hi ! Read & reviewed Karen Ingalls ma’am’s book ‘When I rise’ on Amazon.com & Amazon.in. Both the reviews are up on Amazon. Here is the review:

    ‘When I Rise’ is a charming collection of short stories based on special trees & their unique symbols to the plots. Be it child abuse, a difficult divorce, bulimia, caring for the elderly, Alzheimer’s disease etc., each short story in this collection has a tree to celebrate it’s gifts to humanity. Award winning author Karen Ingalls captures the heart of the reader by her wonderful prose. Her love for gardening & nature is brought out beautifully in this little book. I recommend this book to every tree lover out there. Buy your copy of Ingalls’ book today & be uplifted. This book will let you know the magic of trees & how we must persevere in spite of all the odds against us, to achieve everlasting bliss, like the eternal trees themselves. Go & get your copy of ‘When I Rise’ today, you won’t regret it. I liked the way each tree highlighted a different social issue & I think you will too. I hope to read more books by Karen Ingalls in the near future. She has done a marvelous job with this tiny book. My favorite part was about the story of Daisy the duck. No! You’re not getting any spoilers from me – get your copy today. Happy reading to everyone!’

    Happy reading & reviewing to all at RRBC & RWISA! 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  24. insaneowl December 2, 2019 at 11:39 pm | Reply
    Hi ! Read & reviewed Beem sir’s ‘Jazz Baby’ on Amazon.com & Amazon.in. Both the reviews are up on Amazon. Here is my review:

    ‘I loved this book. ‘Jazz Baby’ is a page turner like no other. Penned by accomplished author Beem Weeks, ‘Jazz Baby’ is a tale of Emily Ann who just wants to sing Jazz but is caught up in all sorts of troublesome situations. Shocking event after shocking event makes Emily Ann more determined to reach New York where she hopes to make her dreams come true away from her hometown that has only misunderstood her, made use of her helplessness or ill-treated her. The book is a compelling read. It’s difficult to put the book down once you have started reading it. ‘Jazz Baby’ is a literary achievement like no other. It’s packed with action & a number of memorable characters that endears themselves to the readers. I was especially impressed by the character of Neesie, a poor Black-American child who only yearns to have her own baby to care for. This character along with other characters like Jobie Pritchett, Billy Blood, DeShay & Pig are just larger than life penned beautifully by the skilled hand of Beem Weeks, the author. The book is undoubtedly a book about a child’s way of struggling in a world that only wants to make use of her & her voice. I highly recommend this book to all literary fiction fans out there. Read this book & enter the life of Emily Ann who is nothing more than a ‘baby’ herself, ‘Jazz Baby!’ Read this book & enjoy yourself in a world that is money crazy, full of violence, & brutal. Get your copy of Beem Weeks’ masterpiece ‘Jazz Baby’ today. Are you looking for a literary fiction read about the Jazz age in the USA then read this book. Looking for a well written read with a strong female protagonist with a mind of her own then this is the book for you. Looking for a page turner of book then get your copy of ‘Jazz Baby’ ASAP. I hope to read more books by Beem Weeks in the near future. Kudos to him on a job well done!’

    Happy reading & reviewing to all at RRBC & RWISA ! 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  25. peggyhattendorfcom December 2, 2019 at 6:52 pm | Reply
    I have read and posted an Amazon review for Balroop Singh’s poetry – “Moments We Love.” What a lovely collection of poems and I have many favorites.

    Like

  26. Randall Krzak November 26, 2019 at 5:00 pm | Reply
    I thoroughly enjoyed Tabula Rasa by Gordon Bickerstaff. Join Lambeth Group agents, Zoe Tampsin and Gavin Shawlens, as they try to unravel mystery surrounding the unusual death of a government scientist. Once again, Gordon has developed an exciting plot with plenty of twists and turns as the story unfolds.

    For those who enjoy non-stop action, this one is for you! With realistic characters, several intriguing settings and a group of visionaries trying to recreate the world as they want it to be, you’ll find yourself burning the midnight oil as you won’t want to put it down!

    Like

  27. insaneowl November 22, 2019 at 8:27 am | Reply
    Hi ! Read & reviewed S.Burke ma’am’s short story collection ‘The Alternative’. The reviews are up on both Amazon.com & Amazon.in. I loved the book & hope to read more books by Suzanne ma’am in the near future. Happy reading & reviewing to all at RRBC ! – Fiza Pathan

    Like

  28. insaneowl November 21, 2019 at 4:39 am | Reply
    Hi ! Read & reviewed D.L.Finn ma’am’s memoir ‘No Fairy Tale’. Both the reviews are up on Amazon.com & Amazon.in. It was an amazing read & I loved the poems, especially the ones about nature. Looking forward to reading more of D.L.Finn ma’am’s books ASAP. Happy reading & reviewing to all ! – Fiza Pathan

    Like

  29. John Fioravanti November 16, 2019 at 7:46 am | Reply
    I just left this review for “Slimmer” by Wendy Jayne on Amazon:

    A Delightful Read

    This book is a fun read from start to finish. It is well-written and held my attention throughout. Upon finishing the story, I felt disappointed that this wild ride from the depths of human weakness to triumph was over. Well done!

    Like

  30. markbierman November 10, 2019 at 5:17 am | Reply
    Amazon would not allow me to post my five-star review of , The Contract Between Heaven and Earth, by Gwen Plano and John Howell, but I have posted it on my blog and social media. Here it is:

    A story thick with layers, both in plot and characters, the turn of almost every page is a revelation of another clue, not only for the reader, but for the main characters themselves.

    After entering their hosts, they must re-discover each other and their inexplicable feelings of romantic love, as they work to unhinge a terrorist plan to destroy a world leader.

    To be honest, I am not an avid reader of romance, and if it were not for the backstory, I would have declared the relationship between the main characters unrealistic and a bit ‘over-the-top.’ However, in similar fashion to the rest of the novel, the reason for their behavior grows abundantly clear and I found myself nodding, ‘yes, this makes perfect sense.’

    The attention to detail and logical flow of events is amazing. There are no gaps in the sequence, and never once did I find myself questioning how a certain fact or situation came to pass. Everything is explained and that is no small feat, especially since the book was co-authored.

    If you enjoy the comfort of a predictable plot, look elsewhere. If you want to figure out the ‘who-dunnit’ in five minutes, I wish you the best of luck. There are so many twists and turns that I’m almost given to recommend the print format be made into the shape of a corkscrew.

    To John W. Howell and Gwen M. Powell, I offer a hearty round of applause. You both certainly pulled it off and your talent shows. Well done!

    Five well-deserved stars!

    Like

  31. lynnhobbsauthor November 9, 2019 at 10:09 am | Reply
    I read Vanished by Mark Bierman, and highly recommend it! This fiction book was well researched, well thought out, and well written! I gave it a 5 star review on Amazon.

    Like

  32. Randall Krzak November 2, 2019 at 5:44 am | Reply
    Deadly Secrets, the first in the Lambeth Group Series by Gordon Bickerstaff, is a well-written story which will keep action-adventure aficionados. He’s created an intricate plot, which if successful, could potentially doom countless numbers of people to death as they unknowingly ingest harmful protease enzymes.

    Follow Gavin Shawlins, a dedicated scientist and a member of the secret Lambeth Group, as he unravels the sinister plot. There is something for everyone in this exciting thriller, even a bit of rekindled romance. With plenty of twists and turns, Gordon has forged the opening novel of what should be an exciting series. I look forward to reading more!

    Like

  33. Gwen M. Plano October 28, 2019 at 9:28 am | Reply
    Amazon would not allow me to post my review for Red Eyes In The Darkness.

    Here’s my five-star review:

    This is a well-written whodunit that kept me intrigued from the beginning. D.L. Finn has a gift for building suspense while creating a story. With RED EYES IN THE DARKNESS, readers are caught in the tension and are compelled to read in hopes of solving the mystery. Always, I look forward to the supernatural dimensions of Finn’s work, and this short story was no exception. I highly recommend it.

    Like

  34. Joy M. Lilley October 27, 2019 at 7:48 am | Reply
    A five star review for John Podlaski’s ‘When can I stop running.’

    Although not my usual style or reading,this well written story of a young man drafted into the Vietnamese /U.S. war,I found exceptional.John tells of his friend and himself during the nights in Vietnam being lookouts to warn the comrades of approaching enemy.When he was bored and afraid,stuck in mud filled holes his mind wanders back to childhood memories of youthful antics along with his mates,that were both dangerous and had them all running in fear of their lives.These memories were both humorous, believable and identifiable with most youngsters.This book was most readable and enjoyable and I look forward to reading’ Cherries’. Joy M. Lilley

    Like

  35. Randall Krzak October 21, 2019 at 5:05 pm | Reply
    D.L. Flynn’s Red Eyes in the Darkness is a gripping suspense guaranteed to leave you thinking–where is evil lurking, and why? This is a well-written story which will give you pause to look at people differently, just as Cass and Will found out when they were under suspicion of killing Cass’ sister.

    Friends and family members want nothing to do with them, yet they haven’t done anything wrong. Even when the cause of their problems meets a predicted but untimely demise, red eyes appear elsewhere. Hold onto your seat as you read this one. An excellent story and you won’t be able to put it down!

    Like

Comments make our hearts soar!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s